Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Calcaire au jour le jour
22 juin 2017

Doctor Angelicus 34

 

I am near having checked all words in my Church Latin texts database.

Remain only a few words of 15 letters. In the database, there are longer words but I have already registered them when working on particular texts.

I shall list here these remaining words and shall say what I do about them. They roughly are in reverse alphabetical order; roughly also, first are the words in downcase, then the capitalized ones.

vigesimumprimum

this is a number in letters; it appears e.g. in an article (of a quaestio) which has a long list of arguments; I don't want that in my dictionary appear too much numbers in letters; anyway, numbers being in infinite quantity, one can only make the first ones appear in a dictionary; the trick I use here is to split it in two parts "vigesimum" and "primum"; the adjectives "vigesimus" and "primus" are already entries in the dictionary and the checking program makes that all their inflections are written in the list of all inflexions; in particular "vigesimum" and "primum" will be listed; it remains that it is possible to keep the one-word aspect of vigesimum primum; I use for this the "zero width space" (Unicode U+200B) which will be considered by the checker program as an ordinary space

vicesimumprimum

the orthography can vary from a part of the Opera Omnia to another; I register all orthographies in my dictionary; hence I have entries "vigesimus" and "vicesimus" and can do the same for this word as for the preceding one

vicesimumsextum, vigesimamprimam, vigesimaseptima

again, I insert zero width spaces

superexcessivos 

the adjective "excessivus" exists in dictionary but not "superexcessivus"; very often, Thomas creates neologisms by adding a preposition at the head of an existing word; in my dictionary I register the adjective "superexcessivus"

superlaboriosos

same phenomenon; I register "superlaboriosus" as adjective

superprincipale

again; I register "superprincipalis" as an adjective of 3rd declension

Teglathphalasar

the name of this king appears 8 times in Thomas' comment on Isaiah; I register this name in the file of persons' names though it already appears under a different orthography

pentacontarchis

this noun is modelled on a greek word; fortunately the noun "pentacontarchus" of 2nd declension is an entry of the Gaffiot; I register it in my dictionary; this case is rare; Thomas uses a lot of words apparently modelled on greek ones but which don't appear in latin dictionary; sometimes the greek-like words of Thomas cannot even be traced in the Bailly (basic greek-to-french dictionary)

pentacontarchos

nothing to do; this inflection will appear in inflections of "pentacontarchus"

septimumdecimum, septuagintaduos

I insert zero-width spaces

incircumspectum

the adjective "incircumspectus" is of classical latin; I register it

Nabuchodonosori

this inflexion appears once, in [16352] Super Sent., lib. 4 d. 15 q. 1 a. 3; I register it in the file of persons; if a person's name has inflections, all these inflections are registered in this file

immisericordiam

again a neologism based on "misericordia" which is of classical latin; I register the noun "immisericordia" of 1st declension

incircumfinitam

two prepositions to create this neologism: in + circum; I register the adjective "incircumfinitus"

caracteristicon

this word appears once in [89219] Nicolaus de Crotone (?), De Fide Trinitatis, tract. 1 cap. 46 ; the sourrounding words are "ut sint duo differentes caracteristicon ydiomaton, id est distinctis proprietatibus" ; hence, as it happens often, the author uses a greek expression and explains it in latin; hence I shall not insert the expression "caracteristicon ydiomaton" in the dictionary but in the file of special words attached to the text; the expression will be in a single line of the file since the checker program can manage expressions of several words; nothing else is to do since "caracteristicon" doesn't appear elsewhere in the Opera Omnia

conglorificemur

the wiktionary says that this is the first-person plural present passive subjunctive of "conglorifico" which is of 1st conjugation; hence, I register in the dictionary the entry "conglorificer" attaching to it a key saying which inflections will be developed, namely: conglorificer, conglorificeris, conglorificetur, conglorificemur, conglorificemini, conglorificentur; presently, 5 of these inflections are unused

Constantinopoli

this word will go in the file of geographical names which already contains other inflections of the town name

epicacocharchos

this greek-looking word doesn't exist in latin dictionaries; it will go in the file of special words

Peripateticorum

there is a file which collects the words representing groups of persons; this word goes there

Pisistratidarum

this word appears 3 times in Petrus de Alvernia, In Politic· continuatio, lib. 5 ; it is forged on the name of Pisistratus and it is likely that "Pisistratidarum" is the name of a group; hence I write it in the corresponding file

Hierosolymitide

in [85358] Catena in Mt·, cap· 2 l. 11 it is said that Cleopatra Hierosolymitide gave a son named Philippus to Herodes; hence I register "Cleopatra Hierosolymitide" in the file for names of persons; the word "Hierosolymitide" doesn't appear elsewhere

ierosolymitanae, ierosolymitanum

the adjective ierosolymitanus doesn't exist in latin dictionary; I create it in my dictionary

Ierosolymitanis

with a capital represents the group of inhabitants in Jerusalem; the word goes in the file of groups

Ierosolymitanus

with a capital is always (5 times) attached to the name of the patriarch Cyrillus; hence I register "Cyrillus Ierosolymitanus" in the file of persons; I register also "Cirillus Ierosolymitanus" and "Cirillus Ierosolimitanus" since the three orthographies appear; somebody, one day, perhaps will create a standardization of orthographies; it would be an enormous work

Carthaginensium, Carthaginienses, Cathaphrygiarum

are names of groups

End of the task

 

Affable Calcaire

 

 

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Calcaire au jour le jour
Publicité
Archives
Publicité