Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Calcaire au jour le jour
9 juin 2016

Doctor Angelicus 19

 

In addition to works of Thomas, I have, in my "Latin Helper System" the whole Nova Vulgata Vaticana (22 "units"). But, as I said, this recent text has many differences from the text used by Thomas. Hence I decided to insert also the traditional text that seems to be the one used at the time of Thomas and, before him, of the Magister Petrus Lombardus. I found that this text, according to documentation in the web, is referred to as Vulgata Clementina.

This can be found at

http://www.thelatinlibrary.com/bible.html

I downloaded it from this address. It can be found also at

http://www.newadvent.org/bible/gen001.htm

Here, the text is better, since several typing errors of the thelatinlibrary text are corrected. But I didn't download from newadvent since, there, the latin text appears as the third column of a greek-english-latin parallel exposition; extracting it would have been a long work.

So I created 22 new units for the Clementina, parallel to the units containing the Vaticana.

I decided to do a complete lexical first scan of one of these units. I put in the first one, in addition to Genesis, the Prologi Sancti Hieroynymi whose vocabulary is special. Hence I choosed the second unit of the Clementina. It contains together Exodus and Leviticus. This first scan took several weeks since these books contain rich vocabulary. Moreover the latin Leviticus contains, in each one of its long list of laws, a latin morphological ambiguity: in latin, there is no morphological difference between future perfect active indicative and perfect active subjunctive. Most of time, the Leviticus laws follow the scheme:

si [proposition in future perfect indicative] , [proposition in future indicative]

and I tried, each time I found the ambiguity, to decide between indicative and subjunctive.

 

Affable Calcaire

 

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Calcaire au jour le jour
Publicité
Archives
Publicité